ELD Mandate Grace Period Over and Chain Laws in Effect Until May 31

ELD Mandate Grace Period Over and Chain Laws in Effect Until May 31

April 6, 2018

The electronic logging device (ELD) mandate is now fully in effect. Shipping companies have known about this requirement for over two years, and many in the industry believe it will have significant impacts on capacity due to rising manufacturing costs and limited capacity.

The ELD mandate is intended to make the trucking industry safer. This legislation limits how many hours truckers can work in a row to 11. A trucker who works 11 hours must then be off duty for 10 hours. Duty hours are logged using an ELD.

However, there are components of the law that some in the shipping industry find unfair. For example, many devices installed before 2012 will not be in compliance with the law, and in order for the trucks to operate, they will need new devices. This law could have a serious effect on heavy equipment hauling in Aurora, CO and elsewhere.

Better get those chains out

Another regulation with a significant impact on the industry is requirements for trucks to have chains until late in the year, though this is highly dependent upon what state you’re traveling through. The only other option is for truckers to pull over and wait for winter weather to pass. But in some states, like Colorado, you could get a ticket just for not carrying chains.

The state of Colorado’s chain law applies to all roads in the states, regardless of whether they’re locally maintained back roads or federal interstate highways. Road signs throughout the state inform drivers of when the chain law is in effect. Alternatively, you can always call 511 for information. To meet the law’s requirements, all truckers need chains for each of the four tires on the drive axle.

Some roads have slightly different regulations. For example, I-70, from mile marker 133 to 259, requires that drivers have sufficient chains until May 31. The state does offer chain-up spots in over 20 places along I-70.

If you get caught without chains on Colorado’s roads, you’re going to face a hefty fine of $500, plus another $79 in surcharges. If your negligence leads to a road blockage, that fine skyrockets to more than $1,000.

Negotiating the world of the shipping industry isn’t easy. New government regulations are popping up all the time that make things tricky for businesses. Keeping on top of these new laws is important to avoid large fines and to keep all relevant licenses and permits.

Osage Specialized Transportation is the recognized expert in heavy equipment hauling in Aurora, CO. We have more than four decades of experience in the business and work with multiple large carriers. Our targeted services help us provide a larger variety of equipment than any single company has access to.

We cover all phases of transportation for heavy equipment and machinery. Those in fields such as mining and construction trust us to get the job done right. It’s no problem for us to provide transport throughout the entire continental U.S., Canada and Mexico.

To provide the highest level of support for our customers, you can call us 24 hours a day. Reach out to Osage Specialized Transport today for more information and a free consultation.

Categorised in: